Site logo

Stewards dismiss Ferrari protests

NEWS STORY
29/05/2022

The Monaco stewards have dismissed both of Ferrari's protests against the Red Bull drivers following today's Grand Prix.

Following the publication of the provisional classification, Ferrari lodged protests against Sergio Perez and Max Verstappen, claiming that both drivers failed to keep to the right of the solid yellow line at the pit exit when leaving the pits and therefore failed to comply with Section 11.1 of the Race Director's Event Notes and therefore breached Article 16.1 of the 2022 FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations as well as Chapter IV Section 5 of Appendix L of the FIA International Sporting Code.

The parties were summoned and heard, representing Red Bull was Jonathan Wheatley, representing Ferrari was Inaki Rueda and representing the FIA Sporting Department was Eduardo Freitas.

There were no objections against the composition of the Stewards panel.

It was agreed by all parties that should both protests lodged by Ferrari be admitted, they could be heard concurrently as they involved the same type of incident and the same principles.

At the hearing the parties referred to the documents submitted. None of the parties submitted further evidence or initiated the hearing of additional persons or conducting further investigations.

The Stewards found that the protest was admissible and that the requirements of the Code had been complied with.

At the hearing Ferrari conceded that neither Perez or Verstappen had any part of its front or rear tyres on the left of the yellow line and conceded that the protests were unfounded.

The protest were therefore dismissed and the protest fees forfeited.

Check out our Sunday gallery from Monaco, here.

LATEST NEWS

more news >

RELATED ARTICLES

LATEST IMAGES

galleries >

  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images

POST A COMMENT

or Register for a Pitpass ID to have your say

Please note that all posts are reactively moderated and must adhere to the site's posting rules and etiquette.

Post your comment

READERS COMMENTS

 

1. Posted by Mad Matt, 30/05/2022 17:32

"Reading a little further it seems it's not quite as simple as I though (what is in F1?). There seems to have been a conflict between the race director's notes and the rules, so the stewards judged that the rules take precedence... which means that touching the line was OK, hence the quote i put below (from the article).

In other words the FIA screwed up and contradicted their own rules.... I also have the feeling that race director's notes have been used to punish people in the past....."

Rating: Positive (2)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

2. Posted by meatball, 30/05/2022 16:10

"the blue line in hockey is probably 10" wide. you can touch it all you want, you can skate IN the confines of the edges all you want. You cannot, however, fully cross it before the puck if you are an offensive player. This is another example of where the foul exists on a boundary line. I'm certain if we looked at examples of many other sports, we'd see the same result. Get over it, guys. Same interpretation stands for track boundaries too - when the arbitrarily choose to enforce track boundaries."

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

3. Posted by Mad Matt, 30/05/2022 7:47

""At the hearing Ferrari conceded that neither Perez or Verstappen had any part of its front or rear tyres on the left of the yellow line"

So both teams agree that neither car crossed the line but that they touched the line... which apparently is OK."

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

4. Posted by Kristofforo, 29/05/2022 23:39

"So, we have learned that it is ok to cross the yellow line then. Excellent. "

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

5. Posted by Roli, 29/05/2022 21:35

"I'd love to know what the forfeited fees came to , in € ...."

Rating: Positive (3)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

Share this page

X

Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2022. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms