Site logo

Marina Bay Street Circuit



Click the image for a larger version of the circuit map


Marina Bay Street Circuit

Singapore GP Pte Ltd
50 Cuscaden Road
HPL House 06-02

Tel: +65 6738 6738


Official website:



5.073km (3.152miles)

Race laps:


2016 winner:

Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)



First GP:


Lap record:

1:47.187 (Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, 2016)


Street Circuit

Total races:



Singapore's street circuit weaves through the Marina Bay area of the city in an anti-clockwise direction.

Similar to Monaco in its layout, the 3.148 mile lap is dominated by slow speed corners (24 in total, 14 left and 10 right) and has only a handful of higher speed connecting stretches, the highest of which being Raffles Boulevard on which the drivers reach 190 mph. Despite so many braking events, the average lap speed is around the 110 mph mark with 50% of the lap spent at full throttle.

Over and above the clear demands provided by a night race, Singapore's creative layout brings its own challenge in that four-fifths of the track take in the city's streets, while the remaining one fifth has been built specifically for the Grand Prix.

From the outset, the circuit has been criticised by drivers as being excessively bumpy, particularly on Raffles Boulevard between turns 5 and 7, resulting in a very unforgiving circuit, especially given the hot and humid conditions of the climate. Indeed, Lewis Hamilton claims that Singapore is twice as hard to negotiate as Monaco and unexpectedly physical.

Ahead of the inaugural race (2008) several drivers expressed their concern about the high and harsh kerbs at the chicane Turn 10), worried that hitting the bumps could cause suspension damage or even damage a tub. They also raised concerns that the bumps would pitch them into the wall on the outside of the corner.

Though the FIA had been involved in the development of the kerbs, in response to the drivers' concerns Charlie Whiting agreed to lower the kerbs at Turn 10 chicane ahead of the Friday free practice session. The kerbs were further reduced in height for Saturday and Sunday's night race.

The chicane at Turn 10 was re-profiled for the 2010 race in an attempt to make it safer and the turns more gradual by moving the kerbs, however Hamilton said the modification made the chicane more dangerous by making the entry to the corner smaller, subsequently dubbing it "the worst corner in F1".

The pit lane entrance, which originally began at the penultimate corner, has also been deemed "difficult" and “incredibly dangerous" by several drivers due to the fast nature of where it is situated. The pit entry was subsequently modified by extending the entry line away from the pits thereby compelling drivers to commit to the pit entry earlier, providing additional warning to those following behind.

The combination of cambers and bumps characteristic of a street track and the smooth asphalt of a designated racing circuit complicate set-up direction over the weekend. With the region notoriously humid, rain is often expected most evenings which further exaggerates the set-up conundrum.

The difficult nature of the circuit was to play a part in one of the most infamous incidents in modern Formula One history, when, in 2008, Nelson Piquet Jr, under instructions from senior members of the Renault team, crashed deliberately to help his teammate, Fernando Alonso win the race.

For 2015 the track was re-aligned between turns 10 and 13 and now uses the left hand side of the Anderson Bridge.

Fast Facts - Provided by the FIA

2016 will be the ninth Singapore Grand Prix. The event joined the calendar in 2008 and has been a fixture since.

Sebastian Vettel is the most successful driver at the Singapore Grand Prix, with four wins. The four-time world champion scored a hat-trick of wins for Red Bull Racing between 2011 and 2013 before winning last year's race with Ferrari. His 2015 victory here is his most recent.

Vettel is not the only driver to win here for different teams. Fernando Alonso won the inaugural event for Renault and then for Ferrari in 2010, while Lewis Hamilton won for McLaren in 2009 and for Mercedes in 2014. Their domination of the event means the Singapore has only been won by Formula One world champions.

The most successful constructor at the Singapore Grand Prix is Red Bull Racing, thanks to Vettel's hat-trick of wins. Ferrari is second courtesy of wins from Alonso and Vettel, while Renault, McLaren and Mercedes have one victory each.

This is set to be Nico Rosberg's 200th grand prix start. The German first competed at the 2006 Bahrain Grand Prix where he finished seventh for Williams, thus scoring points on his debut. His best finish for the Grove squad was second place at the inaugural Singapore Grand in 2008. Since moving to Mercedes in 2010 he has taken 21 wins and 28 pole positions for the German marque.

Another driver reaches a milestone this weekend, with Marcus Ericsson set to race his 50th grand prix. The Swedish racer made his grand prix debut with Caterham at the 2014 Australian GP. He raced 16 times for that squad before its collapse ahead of the 2014 US GP. He joined Sauber for the 2015 season and has since raced 33 times for the Swiss outfit, finishing in the points on five occasions.

Nico Hulkenberg scored the first of two fastest laps to date here in 2012. He posted a lap of 1:51.033 on lap 52 of the race. His other fastest lap came at this year's Chinese Grand Prix, with a lap of 1:39.824 on lap 48 of that race.

Michael Schumacher started the 300th grand prix of his 306-start F1 career in Singapore in 2012. Just two drivers have raced 300 grands prix or more, Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello, who has 322. Jenson Button is set to become third third member of the club at the Malaysian Grand Prix in just over two weeks' time. This weekend will be the Briton's 299th grand prix start.

Aside from the three winners, only six other men have stood on the podium here: Rosberg (P2, 2008), Timo Glock (P2, 2009), Mark Webber (P3, 2010-2011), Button (P2 in 2011-2012), Kimi Raikkonen (P3 in 2013 and 2015) and Daniel Ricciardo (P3 in 2014 and P2 last year).

Pole position counts for much at the Marina Bay Street Circuit, with the race being won from the front of the grid six times. Felipe Massa failed to win from pole in the inaugural race, finishing P13, and Hamilton failed to finish in 2012 after starting in P1. Alonso won from P15 in 2008, while Vettel won from P3 on the grid in 2012.

Share this page


Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2017. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  terms  |  privacy & security  |  rss