Site logo

Shanghai International Circuit



Click the image for a larger version of the circuit map


Shanghai International Circuit

Shanghai International Circuit
29/F Jiushi Tower
28 Zhongshan Road (South)
Shanghai 200010

Tel: (86) 21 6333 9393

Fax: (86) 21 6333 9434

Official website:



5.451km (3.387miles)

Race laps:


2017 winner:

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)



First GP:


Lap record:

1:32.238 (Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, 2004)


Permanent Circuit

Total races:



The Shanghai International Circuit, which is situated in the Jiading District of Shanghai, was financed by a government-funded joint-venture company, consisting of the Shanghai Juss Corporation, Shanghai National Property Management Co Ltd, and Shanghai Jia'an Investment and Development Co Ltd. It is thought to have cost around 350m ($450m).

In common with many other new circuits, it was designed by Hermann Tilke, and features his trademark track feature: a long back straight followed by a hairpin turn.

At the time, the scale of the project, with its two nine-storey pit buildings, 29,000-seat main grandstand and ornate paddock pavilions, was bigger than anything previously seen in Formula 1; it was what circuit designer Hermann Tilke described as "a race circuit for the new millennium".

The track layout was inspired from the Chinese character 'shang' the first character in the name of the city Shanghai, meaning "above" or "ascend".

The circuit architectural and design experts began planning and visiting the site between April and May 2003, and the area was transformed from swampland to international racetrack within 18 months with a team of 3000 engineers working around the clock. On 26 September 2004, the circuit hosted its first formula One World Championship Grand Prix, which was won by Rubens Barrichello.

In ts inaugural year the Chinese Grand Prix attracted 260,000 spectators with a slight (10,000) increase in 2005, but attendance has since declined with 155,000 attending in 2010.

On Feb 18, 2011, it was claimed that organizers had extended the deal to host the Chinese Grand Prix to 2018 despite falling attendance. Yiping Chen, deputy director of the Shanghai Sports Bureau, suggested the situation can improve by lowering the ticket cost. It was also reported that the Shanghai City government will keep open a subway line to the race track to boost spectator numbers.

Partly due to location of the circuit, the areas around turns 1, 8 and 14 have been sinking, and therefore the circuit had to be inspected before the 2011 event took place.

Wen Zhao, vice-mayor of Shanghai, has said that F1 is good for the city's image and remains confident in the success of the event in the years ahead.

The circuit's technical demands are similar to those of Sepang, but the cooler ambient and track temperatures in China place greater emphasis on tyre wear.

Fast Facts - Provided by the FIA

2017 marks the 14th running of the Chinese Grand Prix. The race debuted in 2004 and has been held every year since. Every race has taken place at the Shanghai International Circuit.

Lewis Hamilton is the most successful driver in China with four victories (2008, 2011, 2014, 2015). Other multiple winners are Fernando Alonso (2005, 2013) and Nico Rosberg (2012, 2016). Of the current field, Sebastian Vettel (2009) and Kimi Raikkonen (2007) have also won the race. The other winners in Shanghai are Rubens Barrichello (2004), Michael Schumacher (2006) and Jenson Button (2010).

Ferrari (2004, 2006, 2007, 2013) and Mercedes (2012, 2014, 2015, 2016) are tied on four wins apiece in China, one ahead of McLaren (2008, 2010, 2011). Renault won in 2005, and Red Bull Racing had its debut F1 victory at the Shanghai International Circuit in 2009.

Victory here in 2012 was the first of Nico Rosberg's 23 career wins. Last season, Rosberg's second victory at the Shanghai International Circuit was his 17th in F1 which at the time made him custodian of the unwanted record of most F1 victories without a Drivers' World Championship.
Having clinched the title in Abu Dhabi, Rosberg hands that record back to Stirling Moss and the 16 victories the British driver scored between 1955 and 1961 for Mercedes, Maserati, Vanwall, Cooper and Lotus.

Hamilton has the most pole positions in China with five (2007-08, 2013-15), followed by Vettel with three (2009-11), then Alonso (2005-06) and Rosberg (2012, 2016) with two apiece. The only other drivers to have started from pole is Barrichello (2004).

Pole position has proved advantageous here with the driver on pole winning eight of the 13 races. Schumacher's win from P6 is the victory from furthest back on the grid and one of only two wins from the even-numbered grid slots on the inside line, the other being Raikkonen from P2.

Mark Webber was third in the 2011 race from 18th on the grid, the only driver to have finished on the podium in Shanghai having started outside the top ten.

Ferrari's lead in the Constructors' Championship is the first time Mercedes have been off the top spot since March 2014, when second and third places at the season-opening Australian Grand Prix gave McLaren a slender advantage. Mercedes took the lead in that title race with a one-two finish in Malaysia on March 30th 2014 and led consistently since then.

Despite being a permanent track, compared to Albert Park, the Shanghai International Circuit is statistically an inferior early-season indicator of Constructors' Championship form. China became an early-season race in 2009: in the eight races that followed, the winning team here has only gone on to lift the Constructors Championship three times. For the same 2009-2016 timeframe, the winner in Australia has won the Championship five times.

Share this page


Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2018. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms