Site logo

Bahrain International Circuit



Click the image for a larger version of the circuit map


Bahrain International Circuit

Bahrain International Circuit
P.O. Box 26381

Tel: (973) 1745 1003

Fax: (973) 1745 1403

Official website:



5.412km (3.363miles)

Race laps:


2017 winner:

Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)



First GP:


Lap record:

1:31.447 (Pedro de la Rosa, McLaren, 2005)


Permanent Circuit

Total races:



The construction of the Bahrain International Circuit was a national objective initiated by the Crown Prince, Shaikh Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa. The Crown Prince is the Honorary President of the Bahrain Motor Federation.

Designed by Hermann Tilke, the circuit, which has six separate tracks, including a test oval and a drag strip, cost approximately £100m ($150m).

Positioned in the middle of a desert, there were fears that sand would blow onto the circuit and disrupt the race. However, organizers were able to keep the sand off the track by spraying an adhesive on the sand around the track and planting flag-like windbreaks.

The surface of the track is made of Graywacke aggregate, which was shipped from Bayston Hill quarry in Shropshire, England. The surface material is highly acclaimed by circuit bosses and drivers for the high level of grip it offers. The same aggregate material is used at the Yas Marina Circuit for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Initially race organisers were worried that the circuit would not be complete in time for the inaugural 2004 Grand Prix and attempted to cancel the event; however, Bernie Ecclestone refused their request. Subsequently, though the circuit was not fully complete, it was good enough for the grand prix to go ahead on 4 April. It was won by Michael Schumacher.

In 2007 the BIC became the first Grand Prix circuit to be awarded the FIA Institute Centre of Excellence award, given for excellent safety, race marshal, and medical facilities, and for the high standards of technology required to maintain these.

In 2011 the circuit was scheduled to host the first GP of the season. However, due to civil unrest in the country the race had to be cancelled in March 2011. In early June the FIA announced that the race would be scheduled for October 30, the original slot for the inaugural Indian GP, which would be shifted to a season-closing date on December 11. However, two days later following concerns from teams and other officials, organizers officially cancelled the race, choosing to focus their attention on the 2012 event.

Fast Facts - Provided by the FIA

2017 marks the 13th Bahrain Grand Prix. The first race took place in 2004 and with the exception of 2011 when the race was cancelled it has featured on all calendars since. The 2010 race was the only edition to be held on the longer ‘Endurance Circuit', featuring an extra loop between
Turns Four and Five of the Grand Prix Circuit.

In 2014, for its 10th anniversary celebrations the race start was moved to a 6pm slot, with the race being run under floodlights. The grand prix has held at the same time since.

The most successful driver at the Bahrain Grand Prix is Fernando Alonso, who has three victories to his name (2005 and 2006 for Renault and 2010 for Ferrari). Felipe Massa, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton all have two wins apiece. Curiously, all three drivers have back-toback wins at the Sakhir Circuit. Massa's were scored with Ferrari (2007-'08); Vettel's pair came with Red Bull Racing (2012-'13), while Hamilton's were with Mercedes (2014-'15).

Three other drivers have won in Bahrain. Michael Schumacher won the inaugural event in 2004 for Ferrari, Jenson Button won with Brawn GP in 2009 and Nico Rosberg won last year's race with Mercedes.

Alonso may have the most victories in Bahrain but Kimi Raikkonen has the most visits to the podium to his name, with eight. He scored a hat-trick of third places from 2005-2007 and since then the Finn has finished second five times - in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015 and last year.

Romain Grosjean made his first trip to the F1 podium here in 2012. In his 11th grand prix start the Frenchman finished third for Lotus behind Raikkonen and race winner Vettel. His second Bahrain podium was in 2013. He was again third for Lotus.

Five other current drivers have featured on the podium here - Hamilton has five visits to the rostrum to his credit, Massa, Alonso and Vettel have three, while Sergio Pérez raced to third place here in 2014.

Ferrari is the most successful constructor at this race, with four wins (2004, 2007-'08 and 2010). Mercedes have three wins (2014-'16), while Red Bull Racing (2012-'13) and Renault (2005-'06) have two and Brawn GP won in 2009.

Stoffel Vandoorne made his Formula One race debut here last year. The Belgian driver stood in for Fernando Alonso who was unfit to race following a crash two weeks earlier at the Australian Grand Prix. Vandoorne qualified in 12th position and drove to 10th the race, scoring a point at the first time of asking.

Four drivers have multiple pole positions here. Michael Schumacher (2004, '06), Vettel (2010, '12), Nico Rosberg (2013, '14) and Lewis Hamilton (2015, '16).

Four other drivers have been on pole: Alonso (2005), Massa (2007), Robert Kubica (2008) and Jarno Trulli in 2009.

From 12 runnings, the race has been won from pole five times. The Bahrain Grand Prix has never been won from further back than fourth on the grid.

Share this page


Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2018. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms