Site logo

Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez



Click the image for a larger version of the circuit map


Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez

Av. Viaducto Rio de la Piedad
Granjas Mexico

Tel: (52) 55 5764 8499


Official website:



4.484km (2.786miles)

Race laps:


2017 winner:

Max Verstappen (Red Bull)



First GP:


Lap record:

1:18.785 (Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, 2017)


Permanent Circuit

Total races:



In 2015 Formula One returned to the Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez in Mexico City after a 23-year absence. The 4.305km (2.675-mile) circuit has been heavily revised since it last hosted a grand prix, in 1992, but it remains on its original site in the Magdalena Mixhuca Park and it retains its name, in memory of the Rodríguez brothers, Pedro and Ricardo.

The circuit was originally built in 1962 in a public park, and that is not the only similarity to Monza. There are some fast straights and rapid corners that are quite similar to those of the legendary Milan track.

The current circuit has been heavily revised, most noticeably the Peraltada - the final corner before the pit straight - where only half of the original profile has been retained, for safety reasons. The first half of the original banked 180-degree right-hander has now been replaced with a technical stadium section, similar to Hockenheim.

The layout consists of seven left-handers and 10 right-handers, but the 1.314km (0.816-mile) pit straight has perhaps the biggest influence on car set-up. To achieve a predicted top speed of 328km/h (204mph), the cars will need to maximise a delicate trade-off between aerodynamic downforce and drag, and complicating matters further is the altitude.

Situated at 2,200 metres (7,218 feet), the Autodromo is considerably higher than any other venue in F1. There is only 78 per cent of the oxygen available at sea level, which changes the performance characteristics of the car and the power unit. The turbo has to spin faster to compensate for the lack of oxygen entering the ICE (internal combustion engine) and the thinner air means the car generates less aerodynamic downforce at any given wing level.

Many of the faster sections of track have been altered since the last race. The Esses have been modified in the name of safety and the notorious final corner, Peraltada, is no longer included in its entirety. The banked 180-degree right-hander is now preceded by a stadium section, from which the cars emerge in second gear halfway around Peraltada.

Fast Facts - Provided by the FIA

2017 marked the 18th World Championship Mexican Grand Prix. The race has had three distinct eras of operation: 1963-1970; 1986-1992; and the modern derivative, which returned to Mexico City in 2015.

Each era has had its own version of the track. The original Magdalena Mixhuca circuit was 5km long, shortened to 4.421km and renamed the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez before F1 returned in 1986. The configuration has been shortened further to 4.304km for the modern race but the corner-count has increased from 14 to 17, with the addition of the low-speed section cutting through the centre of the Foro Sol stadium, which replaces the fearsome banked Peraltada corner.

With two victories, Jim Clark (1963, 1967), Alain Prost (1988, 1990) and Nigel Mansell (1987, 1992) are the most successful drivers at this race. Lotus (1963, 1967, 1968), McLaren (1969, 1988, 1989) and Williams (1987, 1991, 1992) are the most successful manufacturers with three wins each. Clark and Lotus also won a nonchampionship race in 1962.

The 1965 Mexican Grand Prix witnessed a first victory for the Honda team, in its original incarnation as a manufacturer. It was also a first and only victory for American driver Richie Ginther. In similar circumstances, the 1986 race saw a first victory for the Benetton team, and also the first (of 10) wins for Gerhard Berger.

Nine grands prix in Mexico City have been won from pole, including both of the races in the modern era: Nico Rosberg in 2015 and Lewis Hamilton last year.

Both Mercedes victories came with one-two finishes, emulating the performance of Ferrari in 1970 and 1990, McLaren in 1988 and Williams in 1987, 1991-92.

Ayrton Senna started his 100th race at the 1990 Mexican Grand Prix. Fernando Alonso celebrated his 250th start at the 2015 event. The 1992 Mexican Grand Prix had a young Michael Schumacher recording his first podium finish, with third place for Benetton.

Lewis Hamilton has a 66-point advantage in the Drivers' Championship with 75 points available. Valtteri Bottas was eliminated from the title race at COTA. Fifth or better secures the title for Hamilton regardless of Sebastian Vettel's finishing position. John Surtees (1964), Denny Hulme (1967) and Graham Hill (1968) have all clinched the title in Mexico – though on each occasion it was the final round of the season.

At COTA, Mercedes won the Constructors' Championship. It is a fourth consecutive title, matching the feats of McLaren (1988-1991) and Red Bull Racing (2010-2013). Ferrari hold the record with six between 1999-2004.

Lance Stroll, Stoffel Vandoorne and Pierre Gasly make their Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez debut this weekend. Brendon Hartley, however, has two WEC victories for Porsche in Mexico, winning in 2016 and earlier this year.

Share this page


Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2018. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms