Site logo

Stroll handed grid penalty

NEWS STORY
01/08/2021

Like Valtteri Bottas, Lance Stroll has been handed a 5-place grid penalty for the Belgian Grand Prix.

While the Finn was involved in a Demolition Derby in Turn 1 that saw a Ferrari, McLaren and Red Bull eliminated, moments later, Stroll was setting in motion another costly chain of events.

In attempting to go through on the inside of Charles Leclerc heading to Turn 1, the Canadian hit the Ferrari which subsequently hit Lando Norris causing the McLaren driver to spin.

"Immediately after the start, in the braking zone to turn 1, Stroll collided with Leclerc," reads the stewards report. "The Stewards took into consideration the track conditions however the driver of car 18 was fully to blame for the collision."

Stroll and Leclerc were out on the spot, and while Norris was able to make it back to the pits, such was the damage to his car he was unable to make the restart.

Other than the grid penalty, Stroll received 2 penalty points, thereby bringing his 12 month total to 6.

Check out our Sunday gallery from the Hungaroring, here.

LATEST NEWS

more news >

RELATED ARTICLES

LATEST IMAGES

galleries >

  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images

POST A COMMENT

or Register for a Pitpass ID to have your say

Please note that all posts are reactively moderated and must adhere to the site's posting rules and etiquette.

Post your comment

READERS COMMENTS

 

1. Posted by kenji, 02/08/2021 3:45

"@ Ed. From what I saw it was not Norris who got taken out in this incident caused by Stroll, but Ricciardo. DR has a brilliant start and pulled back three+ places and, if he hadn't been hit by the blameless Ferrari of Leclefc he most likely would have had a podium. "

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

Share this page

X

Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2021. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms