Site logo

Hamilton gets a reprimand

NEWS STORY
22/07/2018

Following the incident during today's German Grand Prix, the Hockenheim stewards reviewed video and audio evidence, as well as hearing from the world champion and a Mercedes team representative.

According to the stewards, it was clear that there was an infringement of Appendix L Chapter IV Article 4 (d) of the FIA International Sporting Code, whereby the Briton clearly crossed the white line separating the pit entry and the track.

In deciding on the penalty for the infringement, the stewards took into account the following mitigating factors:

(i) the driver and the team candidly admitted the mistake and the fact that there was confusion within the team as to whether to stay out or to enter the pits and that led to the infringement.

(ii) The fact that the infringement took place during a Safety Car period.

(iii) At no time was there any danger to any other competitor and the change in direction was executed in a safe way.

Taking these factors into account, including considering previous infringements of the above rule, the stewards were of the opinion that a reprimand would be the appropriate penalty for infringement on this occasion.

Check out our Sunday gallery from Hockenheim, here.

LATEST NEWS

more news >

RELATED ARTICLES

LATEST IMAGES

galleries >

  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images

POST A COMMENT

or Register for a Pitpass ID to have your say

Please note that all posts are reactively moderated and must adhere to the site's posting rules and etiquette.

Post your comment

READERS COMMENTS

 

1. Posted by elsiebc, 28/07/2018 17:21

"But those mitigating factors don't mean anything if a team releases a car with an improperly fitted rim, realize it, and immediately stop it in pit lane. When it's not consistency, it can only be excuses."

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

2. Posted by stackvideo, 23/07/2018 11:25

"Total BS"

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

3. Posted by klmn, 23/07/2018 8:31

"Ha Ha that was a bad day for the Lewis haters LOL but luckily they found something to spit their poison... so funny"

Rating: Negative (-7)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

4. Posted by *TestaRossa*, 23/07/2018 8:26

"Finally a good decision from the FIA . normally they penalise the smallest things and kill the racing.. They need now to punish harder on drivers crashing in other competitors like Vettel got only 5 secs when he destroyed Bottas race. Absurd
"

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

5. Posted by imejl99, 23/07/2018 7:27

"Dear Stewards, consistency leads to integrity in decision making, but... Now we know what is allowed under the safety car, all kind of behaviors.

Other penalty, that of 10 secs for Sainz overtaking under the SC gives us strategy option for two fastest teams for future races? If one believes one is half of or 1 second faster, and there is enough laps to the finish, one can jump in front knowing that 10 seconds will put him maybe 2nd, or 3rd in worst case scenario? Nothing to lose? Maybe Valtteri or Kimi yesterday should have tried it?

Under SC overtaking penalty should be drive thru after restart, not "seconds" regardless how many of them. All that "adding seconds afrewards" penalty system is flawed, it allows that car is still able to affect other cars, either by standing in the way or by making enough time to make penalty pointless.

I remember times when there were drive thru, stop and go, and black flag. It worked fine."

Rating: Positive (4)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

6. Posted by Hamsies, 23/07/2018 6:20

"Typical. If you look at the rules he should have been penalised, but of course he can do no wrong. If I understand the rules the penalty is exclusion. Disgusting."

Rating: Positive (3)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

7. Posted by Trixi, 22/07/2018 19:38

"The day before he is walking his car back to pit lane...we know why; yet, no penalty. I'm counting three infringements to the rules; yet he gets off scot free with his a reprimand? What happened to Kimi in Baku; and
everyone said his penalty wasn't strict enough. I really don't understand. Oh, he also complained that the safety car was going too slow...his usual crying and complaining...which reminds me. He was able to jump out of the car; throw himself to his team members; do an interview; hug and pick up an engineer; and declare "love conquers all" ...was that to Bottas for letting him win? Disgusting!"

Rating: Positive (3)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

8. Posted by Spartacus, 22/07/2018 18:44

"Yes, I agree with Mad Matt. To me rules are quite simple, you cross the line you get a penalty. You drive along side the safety car you get a penalty. Not hard to determine these at all. If they started enforcing these rules straight across the board the teams would piss and moan then ultimately comply. No thinking about them at all. The harder rules where a panel of stewards need to come to a decision more hard than soft, are when grey areas are involved. "

Rating: Positive (4)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

9. Posted by Mad Matt, 22/07/2018 18:06

"Yet another bizarre decision. I knew at the time that what he did is against the rules, he knew and so did his team. The "circumstances" seem to me more like an excuse to not punish him.

He drove well but he's got a "super license" and he knew very well what he was doing.

He also drove along side the safety car for a short whole which I also thought wasn't allowed.

"

Rating: Positive (5)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

Share this page

X

Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2019. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms