Site logo

Tsunoda penalised for impeding Bottas

NEWS STORY
26/06/2021

Yuki Tsunoda has been handed a three-place grid penalty for impeding Valtteri Bottas during today's qualifying session.

The AlphaTauri driver had just completed a fast lap and had communication from the team that he was now on an in lap.

However, the team did not warn car him of the approach of Bottas who was on a fast lap.

Bottas approached Tsunoda at the entry to Turn 4, where the Japanese was on the racing line, and while he attempted to move off the racing line to the outside he did impede the Mercedes unnecessarily.

The stewards deemed that it is the responsibility of every driver to be aware of faster cars when they are on a slow lap, and while the team should have assisted the driver in being aware of the approaching faster car such lack of communication is not an excuse for the driver.

Consequently Tsunoda was handed a three place penalty meaning he will start from eleventh. He was also handed one penalty point on his licence.

Check out our Saturday gallery from Spielberg, here.

LATEST NEWS

more news >

RELATED ARTICLES

LATEST IMAGES

galleries >

  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images

POST A COMMENT

or Register for a Pitpass ID to have your say

Please note that all posts are reactively moderated and must adhere to the site's posting rules and etiquette.

Post your comment

READERS COMMENTS

 

1. Posted by West York, 26/06/2021 21:08

"Yes - Russel has free choice, whichever compound, used or new if they have some available."

Rating: Positive (1)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

2. Posted by habentsen, 26/06/2021 18:04

"Can Russel still choose his tyres freely now that he's starting in the top 10?
"

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

Share this page

X

Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2022. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms