Site logo

Spanish GP: Power Unit elements

NEWS STORY
07/05/2015

Details of drivers power unit elements used prior to the Gran Premio de Espana Pirelli weekend.

Driver Car ICE TC MGU-H MGU-K ES CE
Hamilton Mercedes 1 1 1 1 1 2
Rosberg Mercedes 1 1 1 1 1 1
Ricciardo Red Bull 3 2 2 2 1 2
Kvyat Red Bull 3 2 2 2 1 2
Massa Williams 1 1 1 1 1 1
Bottas Williams 1 1 1 1 1 1
Vettel Ferrari 2 1 1 1 1 1
Raikonen Ferrari 2 1 1 1 1 1
Alonso McLaren 2 3 3 2 2 2
Button McLaren 2 3 3 2 2 2
Hulkenberg Force India 2 2 2 2 1 2
Perez Force India 1 1 1 1 1 1
Verstappen Toro Rosso 3 2 3 2 2 2
Sainz Toro Rosso 2 2 2 1 2 2
Grosjean Lotus 1 1 1 1 1 1
Maldonado Lotus 1 1 1 1 1 1
Stevens Marussia 2 2 2 2 1 2
Merhi Marussia 2 2 2 2 1 2
Ericsson Sauber 1 1 1 1 1 1
Nasr Sauber 1 1 1 1 1 1

Check out our Thursday gallery, here.

ICE = Internal combustion Engine
TC = Turbo Charger
MGU-K = Motor Generator Unit - Kinetic
MGU-H = Motor Generator Unit - Heat
ES = Energy Store
CE = Control Electronics

Note: Drivers are able to use four of the new power units this season. However, this is more complicated than it first appears since the power unit is deemed to comprise six elements, which can be moved between units should the need arise.

Drivers are able to use four of each of the following: the engine (ICE), the motor generator unit-kinetic (MGU-K), the motor generator unit-heat (MGU-H), the energy store (ES), turbocharger (TC) and control electronics (CE). Each element can be rotated among units.

However, should a driver use more than four of any one of the elements a grid penalty will be imposed at the first event during which each additional element is used. The first time a driver uses a fifth element, a ten-place grid penalty is imposed. Different fifth elements used later will incur a five-place grid penalty. The first time a driver uses a sixth element, a ten-place grid penalty will be imposed. Different sixth elements used later will incur a five-place grid penalty and so on...

If a grid penalty is imposed, and the driver's grid position is such that the full penalty cannot be applied, the remainder of the penalty will be applied at the driver's next race. However, no remaining penalties will be carried forward for more than one race.

LATEST NEWS

more news >

RELATED ARTICLES

LATEST IMAGES

galleries >

  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images

POST A COMMENT

or Register for a Pitpass ID to have your say

Please note that all posts are reactively moderated and must adhere to the site's posting rules and etiquette.

Post your comment

READERS COMMENTS

 

No comments posted as yet, would you like to be the first to have your say?

Share this page

X

Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  privacy & security  |  rss  |  terms