Site logo

Austrian GP: Power Unit elements

NEWS STORY
19/06/2014

Details of drivers power unit elements used prior to the Grosser Preis von Osterreich weekend.

Driver Car ICE TC MGU-K MGU-H ES CE
Vettel Red Bull 4 4 3 3 2 4
Ricciardo Red Bull 3 3 3 3 2 2
Hamilton Mercedes 2 2 2 2 2 2
Rosberg Mercedes 2 2 2 2 2 2
Alonso Ferrari 3 3 3 3 3 3
Raikkonen Ferrari 3 3 3 4 3 2
Grosjean Lotus 3 3 3 2 2 3
Maldonado Lotus 3 3 3 3 2 3
Button McLaren 2 2 2 2 2 2
Magnussen McLaren 2 2 2 2 2 2
Hulkenberg Force India 2 2 2 2 2 2
Perez Force India 2 2 2 2 2 2
Sutil Sauber 3 3 3 3 3 3
Gutierrez Sauber 2 2 3 2 2 3
Vergne Toro Rosso 3 3 3 2 2 2
Kvyat Toro Rosso 4 4 4 3 2 2
Massa Williams 3 3 3 3 2 2
Bottas Williams 3 3 3 3 2 2
Bianchi Marussia 4 4 3 4 2 2
Chilton Marussia 3 3 3 3 2 3
Kobayashi Caterham 2 2 2 2 3 4
Ericsson Caterham 2 2 2 2 2 3

Check out our Thursday gallery, here.

ICE = Internal combustion Engine
TC = Turbo Charger
MGU-K = Motor Generator Unit - Kinetic
MGU-H = Motor Generator Unit - Heat
ES = Energy Store
CE = Control Electronics

Note: Drivers are able to use five of the new power units this season. However, this is more complicated than it first appears since the power unit is deemed to comprise six elements, which can be moved between units should the need arise.

Drivers are able to use five of each of the following: the engine (ICE), the motor generator unit-kinetic (MGU-K), the motor generator unit-heat (MGU-H), the energy store (ES), turbocharger (TC) and control electronics (CE). Each element can be rotated among units.

However, should a driver use more than five of any one of the elements a grid penalty will be imposed at the first event during which each additional element is used. The first time a driver uses a sixth element, a ten-place grid penalty is imposed. Different sixth elements used later will incur a five-place grid penalty. The first time a driver uses a seventh element, a ten-place grid penalty will be imposed. Different seventh elements used later will incur a five-place grid penalty and so on...

If a grid penalty is imposed, and the driver's grid position is such that the full penalty cannot be applied, the remainder of the penalty will be applied at the driver's next race. However, no remaining penalties will be carried forward for more than one race.

LATEST NEWS

more news >

RELATED ARTICLES

LATEST IMAGES

galleries >

  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images
  • Pitpass.com latest F1/Formula 1 images

POST A COMMENT

or Register for a Pitpass ID to have your say

Please note that all posts are reactively moderated and must adhere to the site's posting rules and etiquette.

Post your comment

READERS COMMENTS

 

1. Posted by Kkiirmki, 20/06/2014 1:59

"It must be a worry for Vettel that he's on to his 4th unit for 3 of these elements. I'm surprised the Mercedes duo are only on number 2, considering Canada. They must have a lot in reserve on Sunday's if their components aren't being stressed like many of the others. I have a feeling we may see a number of grid penalties later on in the season."

Rating: Neutral (0)     Rate comment: Positive | NegativeReport this comment

Share this page

X

Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2014. All rights reserved.

about us  |  advertise  |  contact  |  terms  |  privacy & security  |  rss