Monaco to adopt 'traditional' 3-day format


F1 boss, Stefano Domenicali has revealed that the Monaco Grand Prix weekend will adopt the 'traditional' 3-day weekend format from next season.

The weekend has usually been spread over four days, with the opening practice sessions taking place on Thursday, while Friday is given over to the support series, thereby allowing the F1 teams a 'day off' before resuming on Saturday.

Ahead of the official issuing of the proposed 2022 schedule, Domenicali has revealed that as from next year the Monaco weekend will fall in line with all the other events in adopting a three-day format.

"Monaco will be in three days, straightaway," he told CNN. "So it will be Friday, Saturday and Sunday instead of Thursday, a gap, then Saturday and Sunday.

"That is the change we're going to introduce next year," he added.

Once again the sport is targeting 23 races, though this remains subject to change due to the continued uncertainty over the pandemic.

"The plan is that we're going to have 23 races," said Domenicali. "We're going to announce the calendar at the World Council, on the 15 October. The idea is to finish earlier than what we finished this year."

The 23-date schedule is set to include a number of Sprint weekends following the three being trialled this year, though it unclear how many there will be or where they will take place.

"It's a plus because first of all, we are giving to the people something new every day, to the media, to the people who are coming to the track," he said of the Sprints. "To the interest and the preparation for the teams, from our perspective, the more unpredictable are the races, the better they are."

Rumoured schedule for 2022

Date Race Circuit
20-Mar Bahrain Sakhir
27-Mar Saudi Arabia Jeddah
10-Apr Australia Melbourne
24-Apr China Shanghai
08-May Miami Miami
22-May Spain Barcelona
29-May Monaco Monaco
12-Jun Azerbaijan Baku
19-Jun Canada Montreal
03-Jul Great Britain Silverstone
10-Jul Austria Spielberg
17-Jul France/Emilia Romagna Paul Ricard/Imola
31-Jul Hungary Budapest
28-Aug Belgium Spa Francorchamps
04-Sep Netherlands Zandvoort
11-Sep Italy Monza
25-Sep Russia Sochi
02-Oct Singapore/Turkey Singapore/Istanbul
09-Oct Japan Suzuka
23-Oct USA Austin
30-Oct Mexico Mexico City
13-Nov Brazil Sao Paulo
20-Nov Abu Dhabi Yas Marina

Article from Pitpass (

Published: 22/09/2021
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2023. All rights reserved.