FIA reveals 2017 calendar


The World Motor Sport Council has announced a number of decisions including the 2017 calendar.

As in 2016, the calendar features 21 races - the most ever in the history of the sport.

Contrary to previous leaks the opening races will not be back-to-back, but Malaysia has now switched with Singapore while the Mexican and Brazilian Grands Prix are back to back. The German Grand Prix, not for the first time in recent years, is 'subject to confirmation', as are the Canadian and Brazilian rounds.

Whilst slightly relaxing the rules on driver helmet liveries, the move which saw Lewis Hamilton take a number of deliberate penalties in Belgium in a bid to add engine components to his 'pool' has been banned.

The WMSC also confirmed changes to Appendices 6 and 8 of the 2017 F1 Sporting Regulations which clarify outsourcing arrangements and conduct permitted regarding Listed Parts, Non-Listed Parts, wind tunnel testing and personnel transfer between teams engaged in a working or developmental relationship.

A new procedure regarding wet weather starts was also accepted. From 2017, if a safety car is deemed to be required for the beginning of a race due to wet weather, a normal standing start will occur once the track is deemed safe to race. The process will see the safety car return to the pit lane and the cars assemble on the grid for the start.

Drivers must continue to present their helmets in substantially the same livery at every event of the FIA Formula One World Championship for easy recognition of the driver in the car, however a driver will now be allowed one event (such as a home race) for a special livery (at the driver’s choice). Drivers will also be allowed to change their helmet liveries if changing teams during the season.

During any single event, if a driver introduces more than one of a power unit element that is subject to penalty, only the last element fitted may be used at subsequent events without further penalty. This is to prevent the stockpiling of spare power unit elements.

For the first five events of the 2017 Championship season only, the normal team selection procedure for tyres will not be used as the deadline occurs before pre-season testing. For these events the supplier will allocate two sets of the hardest compound specification, four sets of the medium compound specification and seven sets of the softest compound specification to each driver.

Date Race Circuit
26-Mar Australia Melbourne
09-Apr China Shanghai
16-Apr Bahrain Bahrain
30-Apr Russia Sochi
14-May Spain Barcelona
28-May Monaco Monte Carlo
11-Jun Canada Montreal*
18-Jun Azerbaijan Baku
02-Jul Austria Spielberg
09-Jul United Kingdom Silverstone
23-Jul Hungary Budapest
30-Jul Germany Hockenheim*
27-Aug Belgium Spa Francorchamps
03-Sep Italy Monza
17-Sep Malaysia Sepang
01-Oct Singapore Singapore
08-Oct Japan Suzuka
22-Oct USA Austin
05-Nov Mexico Mexico City
12-Nov Brazil Sao Paulo*
26-Nov UAE Abu Dhabi

* Subject to confirmation

Article from Pitpass (

Published: 28/09/2016
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2023. All rights reserved.