GP2: Evans wins thrilling Sprint Race


Mitch Evans rounded off an incredible weekend after a last lap lunge on Arthur Pic to claim his first win of the season.

Jordan King started from pole but after clashing with Norman Nato, Pic stole the lead with Richie Stanaway and Evans in hot pursuit.

Yesterday's Feature Race winner, Alexander Rossi and Arden driver, Robert Visoiu made contact, causing an early safety car. The latter clipped the back of the American, spinning the Racing Engineering car around and ending both drivers' races.

Sergey Sirotkin lit up the timing screens by making his way past a number of his competitor before passing Rio Haryanto and Raffaele Marciello, three cars wide, in just one move.

With Stoffel Vandoorne and Evans trading fastest laps, the pressure was on Pic to stay calm. But for the Frenchman, the RUSSIAN TIME pilot was just too quick and with DRS, he threw his car in to the inside of turn one and claimed the lead.

At the chequered flag, Evans led the pack making it three-out-of-three podiums, whilst Pic and Vandoorne followed.

Stanaway held on to fourth, ahead of Sirotkin, who started P20, in fifth. Sergio Canamasas crossed the line in sixth with Raffaele Marciello in seventh. Rene Binder, Artem Markelov and Julian Leal complete the top ten.

Kate Hewitt

1. Mitch Evans RT RUSSIAN TIME
2. Arthur Pic Campos Racing
3. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix
4. Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix
5. Sergey Sirotkin Rapax
6. Sergio Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus
7. Raffaele Marciello Trident
8. Rene Binder MP Motorsport
9. Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME
10. Julian Leal Carlin
11. Alex Lynn DAMS
12. Rio Haryanto Campos Racing
13. Pierre Gasly DAMS
14. Johnny Cecotto Trident
15. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix
16. Simon Trummer Hilmer Motorsport
17. Patric Niederhauser Daiko Team Lazarus
18. André Negrao Arden International
19. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix
20. Jann Mardenborough Carlin

Fastest Lap: Alex Lynn (DAMS) 1:32.818 on lap 18

Not Classified

Robert Visoiu Rapax
Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering
Jordan King Racing Engineering
Norman Nato Arden International

Standings after Italy (Round 8)

Pos Name Nat Team Points
1 Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix 261
2 Rossi USA Racing Engineering 153
3 Sirotkin RUS Rapax 115
4 Haryanto INA Campos Racing 109
5 Lynn GBR DAMS 88
6 Evans NZL Russian Time 87
7 Gasly FRA DAMS 65
8 Marciello ITA Trident 60
9 Pic FRA Campos Racing 57
10 Matsushita JPN ART Grand Prix 48
11 Markelov RUS Russian Time 47
12 King GBR Racing Engineering 46
13 Stanaway NZL Status Grand Prix 42
14 Leal COL Carlin 38
15 Canamasas ESP Hilmer Motorsport 27
16 Berthon FRA Daiko Team Lazarus 24
17 Visoiu ROU Rapax 20
18 Nato FRA Arden International 20
19 Yelloly GBR Hilmer Motorsport 19
20 Rowland GBR MP Motorsport 3
21 Negrao BRA Arden International 3
22 Binder AUT Trident 2
23 De Jong NED MP Motorsport 1
24 Malja SWE Trident 1

Team standings after Italy (Round 8)

Pos Team Points
1 ART Grand Prix 309
2 Racing Engineering 199
3 Campos Racing 166
4 DAMS 153
5 Rapax 135
6 Russian Time 134
7 Trident 61
8 Status Grand Prix 42
9 Carlin 38
10 MP Motorsport 29
11 Daiko Team Lazarus 28
12 Arden International 23
13 Hilmer motorsport 19

Article from Pitpass (

Published: 06/09/2015
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved.