GP2: Gasly sets practice pace


Pierre Gasly has opened his Monza weekend in fine style by taking the top spot in this morning's free practice session at the fabled Italian circuit: the Frenchman stopped the clock at 1:31.669 early in the session for a time which went unanswered by his rivals, with Alexander Rossi and Rio Haryanto the closest to his best lap.

The session opened in sunny conditions which saw all of the field straight out on track. Rossi, Rene Binder and Sergey Sirotkin swapped the top spot between them in the opening minutes: Gasly claimed it as his own 11 minutes into the session before going even faster two minutes later to set a time which was not to be matched.

Not for a lack of trying, though: McLaren tester Stoffel Vandoorne claimed P2 within minutes, but it wasn't until late in the session that Haryanto pipped the Belgian, with Rossi outdoing the Indonesian driver with just 3 minutes remaining in the session.

With little in the way of off-track escapades throughout the session times were extremely tight: behind the top three Vandoorne, Binder, Sirotkin, Richie Stanaway, Alex Lynn, Arthur Pic and Mitch Evans will all think they have a shot when it counts, in this afternoon's qualifying session just a few hours from now.

GP2 Media Office

1. Pierre Gasly DAMS 1:31.669
2. Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering 1:31.986
3. Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 1:32.020
4. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:32.040
5. Rene Binder MP Motorsport 1:32.093
6. Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1:32.124
7. Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1:32.148
8. Alex Lynn DAMS 1:32.219
9. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:32.240
10. Mitch Evans RUSSIAN TIME 1:32.312
11. Norman Nato Arden International 1:32.336
12. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:32.462
13. Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1:32.484
14. Raffaele Marciello Trident 1:32.492
15. André Negrao Arden International 1:32.524
16. Julian Leal Carlin 1:32.606
17. Sergio Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 1:32.608
18. Robert Visoiu Rapax 1:32.768
19 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:32.769
20. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:33.057
21. Johnny Cecotto Trident 1:33.079
22. Meindert Van Buuren MP Motorsport 1:33.390
23. Patric Niederhauser Daiko Team Lazarus 1:33.577
24. Simon Trummer Hilmer Motorsport 1:33.748
25. Jann Mardenborough Carlin 1:33.891

Article from Pitpass (

Published: 04/09/2015
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved.