GP3: Ceccon wins second consecutive sprint race


As the summer break dawns, the GP3 Series took to the Hungaroring in the sweltering heat one last time.

As the lights went out Kevin Ceccon bulleted into the lead from fifth place, leaving pole sitter Antonio Fuoco, to scrap for second with Arden pilot, Emil Bernstorff.

As the field came dancing through the chicane, Fuoco and Bernstorff touched, launching the Carlin into the wall and the Briton off track forcing the safety car to be deployed.

Despite increasing pressure from Esteban Ocon, Ceccon maintained his lead, trading fastest laps with the Mercedes junior.

Ceccon crossed the line just 0.7 ahead of Ocon to win his second consecutive GP3 sprint race whilst Jimmy Eriksson muscled his way up to third.

A late lunge promoted Matt Parry up to fourth after passing series leader, Luca Ghiotto following the safety car.

Marvin Kirchhofer crossed the line in sixth ahead of the Jenzer trio led by Pal Varhaug. His team-mates Ralph Boschung and Matheo Tuscher finished close behind as Mitch Gilbert completes the top ten.

Kate Hewitt

Standings after Hungary (Round 4)

Pos Name Nat Team Points
1 Ghiotto ITA Trident 119
2 Kirchhofer GER ART Grand Prix 96
3 Ocon FRA ART Grand Prix 96
4 Bernstorff GBR Arden International 75
5 Eriksson SWE Koiaranen GP 56
6 Ceccon ITA Arden International 54
7 Parry GBR Koiaranen GP 41
8 Fuoco ITA Carlin 34
9 Mardenborough GBR Carlin 32
10 Boschung SUI Jenzer Motorsport 20
11 Tunjo COL Trident 17
12 Fontana SUI Status Grand Prix 7
13 Morris GBR Status Grand Prix 6
14 Stuvik THA Status Grand Prix 6
15 Varhaug NOR Jenzer Motorsport 4
16 Tuscher SUI Jenzer Motorsport 2
17 Janosz POL Trident 2
18 Celis Jr MEX ART Grand Prix 1

Team standings after Hungary (Round 4)

Pos Team Points
1 ART Grand Prix 193
2 Trident 138
3 Arden International 129
4 Koiranan GP 97
5 Carlin 66
6 Jenzer Motorsport 26
7 Status Grand Prix 19
8 Campos Racing 0

Article from Pitpass (

Published: 26/07/2015
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved.