Korea dropped from 2014 F1 calendar


While it was already common knowledge that Mexico and New Jersey would not make the 2014 schedule, the FIA's World Motor Sport Council has today confirmed that Korea has been dropped.

The dropping of the Korean race, after just four events, mirrors the sport's failure in India where the Grand Prix has been dropped - albeit temporarily we are told - after just two races, and means the 2014 calendar, as in 2013, consists of 19 rounds.

As expected, the season kicks off in Melbourne but will now conclude in Abu Dhabi rather than Brazil, while, compared to the provisional calendar, newcomer Russia and Japan have swapped dates.

Date Race Circuit
16-Mar Australia Melbourne
30-Mar Malaysia Sepang
06-Apr Bahrain Sakhir
20-Apr China Shanghai International Circuit
11-May Spain Barcelona
25-May Monaco Monaco
08-Jun Canada Montreal
22-Jun Austria Red Bull Ring
06-Jul Britain Silverstone
20-Jul Germany Hockenheim
27-Jul Hungary Hungaroring
24-Aug Belgium Spa Francorchamps
07-Sep Italy Monza
21-Sep Singapore Marina Bay
05-Oct Japan Suzuka
12-Oct Russia Sochi
02-Nov United States Austin
09-Nov Brazil Interlagos
23-Nov Abu Dhabi Yas Marina

Article from Pitpass (http://www.pitpass.com):

Published: 04/12/2013
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2024. All rights reserved.