FIA confirms DRS zones for Sepang


The FIA has confirmed the two DRS zones for this weekend's Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix.

The DRS sectors will be between turns 15 and 1 (the pit straight, as in 2012) and then between turns 14 and 15 (the back straight). There will be a detection point for each DRS sector.

The only changes to the Sepang International Circuit ahead of this year's race is that the pit wall debris fence has been extended in order to better protect the marshals.

The stewards this weekend include former F1 star, World Sportscar Champion and BRDC president Derek Warwick, who is making his eighth appearance as an FIA driver steward having last been on duty in Abu Dhabi.

Warwick contested 146 Grands Prix, between 1981 and 1993, for Toleman, Renault, Brabham, Arrows and Lotus. He scored 71 points and achieved four podium finishes, with two fastest laps. He was World Sportscar Champion in 1992, driving for Peugeot. He also won Le Mans in the same year.

As well as racing Jaguar Sportscars in 1986 and 1991, Warwick competed in the British Touring Car Championship in 1995, 1997 and 1998, as well as making one more appearance at the Le Mans in 1996, driving for the Courage Competition team.

He is joined by Paul Gutjahr, President of the FIA Hill Climb Commission, Board Members and President of Auto Sport Suisse SARL, who was last on duty in Korea, and Nish Shetty who sits on the FIA International Court of Appeal as a judge and is a permanent member of the National Court of Appeal (Singapore).

To check out the official 2013 FOM circuit map, click here.

Article from Pitpass (

Published: 21/03/2013
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved.