F1 Commission agrees name changes and confirms calendar


Meeting in Geneva, the commission, which includes Bernie Ecclestone, FIA president Jean Todt, team bosses and representatives of the engine manufacturers, Pirelli, circuit promoters and sponsors, finally brought the long-running Lotus naming saga to an end while also confirming the 2012 calendar.

From next season, Team Lotus will be allowed to run as Caterham, Tony Fernandes and partners having bought out the Surrey-based sports car manufacturer in April this year. Lotus Renault GP will become Lotus, while Virgin Racing will be known as Marussia.

All three name changes have yet to be ratified by the World Motor sport council when it meets in December, but this is largely seen as a rubber-stamping exercise.

The F1 Commission also ratified the 2012 as previously published, even though there was doubt over the Bahrain and Korea events and, more recently, Austin.

Date Race Circuit
18-Mar Australia Melbourne
25-Mar Malaysia Sepang
15-Apr China Shanghai
22-Apr Bahrain Sakhir
13-May Spain Barcelona
27-May Monaco Monaco
10-Jun Canada Montreal
24-Jun Europe Valencia
08-Jul Britain Silverstone
22-Jul Germany Hockenheim
29-Jul Hungary Hungaroring
02-Sep Belgium Spa Francorchamps
09-Sep Italy Monza
23-Sep Singapore Singapore
07-Oct Japan Suzuka
14-Oct Korea Yeongam
28-Oct India New Delhi
04-Nov Abu Dhabi Yas Island
18-Nov United States Austin
25-Nov Brazil Interlagos

Article from Pitpass (http://www.pitpass.com):

Published: 03/11/2011
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved.