All 8 FOTA teams make entry list


All 8 FOTA teams are included in the FIA's entry list for 2010, along with Williams, Force India and three other teams, US F1, Campos and Manor, who will all use Cosworth engines.

The decision to include the FOTA teams, even though their inclusion is provisional, follows last minute talks in London yesterday, which saw the teams and the FIA establish some common ground at a time when many thought the sport was on the verge of imploding.

While there remains a question mark over McLaren, BMW, Renault, Toyota and Brawn, due to the fact that their entries are conditional, it must not be forgotten that Ferrari has already admitted that it would legally challenge its automatic inclusion in the entry list, the result of a previous deal done with the FIA.

Clearly, in the case of these six teams there is still a long, long way to go, with the aforementioned implosion very much a possibility.

Meanwhile, while nobody expected US F1 to be missing from the entry list, there will be widespread surprise that both Lola and Prodrive have been omitted in favour of Campos and Manor, which is understood to have Nick Wirth on board.

Earlier today, Cosworth was playing its cards close to its chest, a spokesman telling the Northampton Chronicle: "All we can say is, we're unable to make a comment at this time."

However, the reality is the legendary engine supplier, which won 176 Grands Prix between 1967 and 2007, will be returning to the grid, a move precipitated when Honda quit F1 at the end of 2008, which itself came at a time when Mosley was pushing for a standard engine in his attempts to reduce costs.

Entrant Constructor
Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro Ferrari
Scuderia Toro Rosso STR-TBA
Red Bull Racing RBR-TBA
AT&T Williams Williams-Toyota
Force India F1 Team Force India-Mercedes
Campos Grand Prix Campos-Cosworth
Manor Grand Prix Manor-Cosworth
Team US F1 Team US F1-Cosowrth
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes* McLaren-Mercedes
BMW Sauber F1 Team* BMW-Sauber
Renault F1 Team* Renault
Panasonic Toyota Racing* Toyota
Brawn GP Formula One Team* Brawn-TBA

  • * These five teams have submitted conditional entries.The FIA has invited them to lift those conditions following further discussions to be concluded not later than close of business on Friday 19 June.
  • The maximum number of cars permitted to enter the 2010 Championship has been increased to 26, two being entered by each competitor. Pending completion of the discussions referred to above, further due diligence is currently taking place on other potential entries.
  • Article from Pitpass (

    Published: 12/06/2009
    Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2021. All rights reserved.