Yoong receives Bruce McLaren Trophy


A1 Team Malaysia driver, Alex Yoong (right), was the 2006 winner of the British Racing Drivers' Club (BRDC) Bruce McLaren Trophy and today Martin Brundle, Vice Chairman, BRDC, and motorsport commentator, presented the award to him during the A1GP event at Brands Hatch in Kent.

This accolade is awarded each year to the best commonwealth driver competing in international motor racing. It was Yoong's strong performance in the first season of the A1GP series that was recognised by the BRDC, and the awarding of this prestigious trophy. The BRDC, with former Formula One World Champion, Damon Hill, at its helm, is a highly respected drivers' club, with the membership limited to drivers with international success over a number of seasons.

Brundle said, "This award is presented to the commonwealth driver who has had the best performances in a season, and Alex is a worthy recipient. I congratulate you on your achievements last year and wish you all the best in the races tomorrow."

Five-times winner of the trophy, Alan Jones, also Seat Holder for A1 Team Australia joined the celebrations and congratulated Yoong on his achievement.

The trophy was originally presented to Bruce McLaren for finishing in 2nd place in the 1965 Canadian Grand Prix at Mosport. After he passed away, Pat McLaren presented it to the BRDC to give to the best commonwealth driver of each year. Previous winners include Mark Webber (Australia), Jacques Villeneuve (Canada), Paul Tracy (Canada), Tomas Scheckter (South Africa) and Jonny Reid (New Zealand).

Alex Yoong began his racing career in Formula Asia, over ten years ago. After two years in his 'local' championship he moved to Europe to progress up the motorsport ladder. Competing in British Formula Renault in 1996- 7, the young Malaysian then progressed to British Formula 3. He graduated to Formula 3000 and on to Formula Nippon before his breakthrough to Formula One.

Article from Pitpass (http://www.pitpass.com):

Published: 28/04/2007
Copyright © Pitpass 2002 - 2020. All rights reserved.